top of page

Stanford Summer Program

This summer I participated in a 3-week pre-collegiate summer program at Stanford, where I took a course in film production.I couldn't have asked for a better experience - it was a blur of awesome people and places and things.

My teacher and classmates were intelligent, creative, inspiring, beautiful people who I felt honored to spend time with and learn from.

What an awesome thing to be learning about something you love surrounded by people who also love it - we made seven short films during our three weeks together. :)

I'm going to miss the program and the people so much. Finally, here are some lyrics I wrote about my experience: Do I have enough paper and pens? What will my class be like, will I make friends? Will I fit in, how many times will I cry? The days begin slowly and then start to blur by… Sun chips, peaches, temporary tattoos Sundays at San Francisco, Santa Cruz Soft serve, brownies, mocha machines Card games, dancing, learning new things We found inspiration, a dead rat, and friends But three weeks eventually came to an end And now I am homesick for a place I that cannot call home Spotlights, kudos, games, and meals Beaches, museums, feeling the feels Movies and videos, shone on ceilings and walls, broken paper towel dispensers, next to small shower stalls We found inspiration, a dead rat, and friends But three weeks eventually came to an end And now I am homesick for a place I cannot call home Three weeks of making stuff, and consuming art That goes in through your eyes to find a home in your heart... Take 18, camera speeds, frame, action Laughter, learning, exhaustion, passion. Then shirts and notebooks are signed, To celebrate lives temporarily intertwined 1 a.m., 2, 3, and 4 Donuts, pizza, Swedish fish galore Hugs are exchanged and we pay final fees, Before packing our rooms and returning our keys Pictures and posters come down from display, As we help to clean up all the proof of our stay Then friends begin to disappear through doorways… Taking suitcases and memories of these past 20 days To Queens, to Shanghai, to mountains, city, and sand Thinking 'I kind of want this plane to turn around before it lands.' Brains grew, hearts were filled, passion was instilled The henna on our skin will fade, but I hope the memories never will

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page