top of page

Self-Publishing

People have asked me if I wish I was published, rather than self-published. The answer, right now, is not really. Although there would be incredible things about being published, and that would be an amazing opportunity, I picked the avenue of self-publishing because I enjoy the flexibility and control it provides. I have to promote and edit my books myself, but I can write my own synopsis, create my own covers, design the format, and so much more. I love being able to share some of what I write, but for now, I think self-publishing works well for my purposes. People also ask about how self-publishing works, or how I did it. I use “CreateSpace," an online company through Amazon.com. It's free to make an account, and you don't need to have an agent or talk to anyone. CreateSpace works by guiding you through a step-by-step process of tasks like uploading an interior, designing a cover, publishing it to Kindle or amazon, and eventually tracking sales. Every part of the process is free, except for ordering proofs or copies of your book. However, there are several optional features that do cost money, such as professional editing, design, and formatting services. Although CreateSpace has worked perfectly for my purposes, if you're looking into self-publishing, be sure to research different options to determine what will work best for you. There are many different platforms that offer different services, features, and processes. My biggest advice on self-publishing is if you run into something that becomes confusing or frustrating (uploading a cover, adjusting the format of your novel, setting payment methods/settings, etc.), keep trying — take the time to do research or contact someone to help you rather than giving up or trying to rush through the process.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page