top of page

Harvard Pre-College

This summer I applied and was accepted to participate in Harvard's pre-college summer program. In short, the experience was amazing. I enrolled in a class called "Heroes, Villains, Lovers, Fools: Archetypes and Modern Culture." I'll never forget my classmates or professor, and in the week since I've been home, I've already applied what I learned to movies, conversations, and everyday life. I stayed in Mather House while I was there. My proctor and roommates were great, and even though it wasn't air conditioned, my dorm really felt like home while I was there. I fell in love with campus, and slowly but surely found some good places to hang out, like the upstairs seating area of a Starbucks in Harvard Square, and an amazing bakery called Tatte not far from my class. We got to eat at Annenberg three meals a day, although I occasionally gave into one of the food trucks on the way. My class was in One Bow Street from 3:15-6:15 every day, except on weekends and the fourth of July. I spent my free time exploring the library or sitting on its steps, studying in Harvard yard, waiting in line at the Ben & Jerry's food truck, FaceTiming with my family, or participating in the Passport program. The passport program: we had to sign up for at least two activities in each of the four categories: Academic Exploration, College Readiness, Social & Residential, and Trips & Recreation. Through this program I got to tour Wellesley college, take a day trip to Newport Rhode Island, attend a lecture on gender stereotypes in the media, see the comedy show "Shear Madness" in Boston, and more. The first week I was there, Jonny Sun happened to be doing an event in Cambridge for his book tour, which served as my incentive to find my way to the law school portion of campus. Below is a video I put together, which is basically a fast-paced slideshow of short clips that I'm oddly proud of.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page